您好,欢迎来到 DCFabric

ENGLISH中文版

软件 -- 细节




DCFabric控制器的系统架构。从上至下依次可分为五层:第一层是Web应用层,第二层是北向接口层,第三层是包含SFabric模块的系统应用(System APP)层,第四层是为上层应用的正常运行提供保障的基础服务层,最后是基于OpenFlow等协议的南向接口层。


DCFabric控制器可支持的Web应用主要包括Web GUINeutron接口、流量工程、防火墙、负载均衡、DDoS防御等。因此,DCFabric可为数据中心在网络管理、网络虚拟化、网络安全、网络流量控制等方面提供一系列支持。


Restful API是DCFabric向上层应用开发者提供的北向接口,它能将网络应用和网络细节彼此隔离,使得网络中的各种设备、事件(如链路中断)和具体操作对应用程序而言都是透明的。因此,数据中心可通过各种灵活的网络应用来提升用户的体验,实现网络的智能化和安全化。


DCFabric的系统应用根据Web应用需求、下层的基础服务(拓扑发现、主机追踪、流量监控、消息处理等)和其内部的执行策略,对整个网络进行逻辑处理并生成具体的流表项。然后,DCFabric将这些流表项通过OpenFlow或OVSDB下发到各个SDN交换机。如此一来,SDN交换机只需根据流表项来执行相应的动作(action),就可对数据包进行处理。


相较其它SDN控制器,DCFabric主要以下两点优势:

    1.SFabric组网技术:不同于在主机级别进行路由规划的一般SDN方案,SFabric在交换机级别进行路由规划。由于网络中的交换机数目一般远低于主机数目,所以能有效地降低网络的流表数目和DCFabric的工作负载,从而提高控制器的性能和可扩展性(具体内容请见章节3.1)。SFabric同时支持基于物理交换机实现的网关、路由、网络地址转换(Network Address Translation,NAT)、多租户管理等,所以DCFabric控制器可为规模日益增长的云计算数据中心提供一个高效的网络管理方案。

    2.DCFabric还支持系统应用的再次开发,即允许其他开发者根据自身的具体需求对控制器进行相应的更改。因此,DCFabric具备更强的兼容性以及更广阔的应用空间。


为了应对数据中心不断增长的网络规模以及保证其健壮性,基于分布式数据库zookeeper提供的控制器状态的共享特性,DCFabric还支持控制器的集群化(Cluster)部署,支持主备控制器的快速切换。

WELCOME TO DCFabric

ENGLISH中文版

SOFTWARE -- Details




DCFabric can be divided into five layers from top to bottom (see above Figure): the first layer is the Web application layer supported by DCFabric, the second layer is the northbound interface layer, the third layer is the system app layer thatcontains a novel SFabric module, the fourth layer is the basic service layer that guarantees the good running of the upper applications, the fifth layer is the southbound interface layer based on several protocols like OpenFlow.


TheWeb applications supported by DCFabric mainly include Web GUI, Neutron interface, traffic engineering, firewall, load balance, DDos protection and so on. Accordingly, DCFabric is able to provide a series of supports for data centers with network management, virtualization, security and traffic control,etc.


RestfulAPI is the northbound interface provided by DCFabric for application developers. It separates the network applications from network details, making all kinds of facilities, events (i.e. link interruptions) and specific operations transparent to the application programs. Consequently, data centers can improve users’ experience and realize intelligence and safety by variousflexible network applications.

The system app of DCFabric is going to centrally handle the logical processing and generate specific flow entries according to upper applications, lower basic services (topology discovery, host tracking, traffic monitoring and message handling, etc.) and its internal execution strategies. After that, DCFabric installs those flow entries into switches via OpenFlow or OVSDB. Thus, each switch only needs to execute corresponding actions in accordance with flow entries when processing the packets.


Compared with other existing SDNControllers, DCFabric has the following two different characters:

    1.The SFabric Module: Different from other SDN technologies that compute routes on the host level, DCFabric can compute routes on the switch level with the help of SFabric module. Since the number of switches in a network is much less than that of hosts, SFabric can greatly reduce the flow entries and the working load of DCFabric, bringing the benefit of accelerating the speed of DCFabric.Because DCFabric has better efficiency on dealing with gateway, route, networkaddress translation (NAT), multi-tenant management and etc., it can achieve effective control and management on cloud computing data centers whose scale is still rising.

    2.Support for Extension of System APPs: DCFabric also supports the redevelopment of system app, which allows other developers improving parts of the functions of DCFabric on their specific demands.Therefore, DCFabric has better compatibility and applications.


Moreover,considering the limited working capability of a single Controller, in order tocope with increasing network scale and guarantee its stability, the deploymentof cluster Controllers is supported. Therefore, if one Controller is down, the relatedSDN switches will connect with another Controller as soon as possible. Furthermore,multiple Controllers can work as a logical entity due to their good cooperation,which makes the data plane transparent to application programs. Therefore, the deploymentof cluster Controllers make great contributions to the high throughput, lowdelay, good flexibility and strong stability of data centers.